If This Blanket Could Talk

image

This is my favorite blanket. It reminds me of Dolly’s song, “Coat of Many Colors.” This is a “Blanket of Many Polyester Dresses” worn by my grandmother. She passed away before my parents were even married. It’s my favorite family heirloom.

I snuggled up with it when I was a little girl watching CMA Awards, Miss America Pageants and so many other monumental television programs. It comforted me when I was sick. It kept me warm on snow days.

I took it with me when I went to college in Jonesboro. It went with me to Dallas and Little Rock. It was a piece of home that was consistent when change was constant.

I could always count on this blanket to make me feel better, safe and relaxed.

Now I am wrapped up in the blanket on my couch counting contractions.

If this blanket could talk.

Leave a Reply

