My Heroes

Four short months ago, we received the news that explains the pain Lucy Jo has felt her entire life. My family and friends have come together to help her along her journey. No matter what we do for her, this is something she must endure. Because of God’s Will, my daughter is rounding second as she wins the game of her life.

I’ve wanted to do everything for her I can possibly do. I’ve picked her up when she fell. I dried her tears and attempted to prevent them from even swelling up. I’ve tried to ensure the doctors do everything they are supposed to do; even though I have no idea what they are supposed to do. I want to fight this fight for her, though I can’t no matter how hard I try.

But, you know what? She’s doing it. She looked the ‘c’ word right in the face and stuck her tiny little tongue at it. She has no fear.

I search Pinterest once in a while for different things about childhood cancer. I’ve learned that the gold ribbon is the awareness color. I learned that there are countless hats for boys and girls. I learned that September is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month. I also found this quote that hits the nail on the head.

Graphic pulled from Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/157485318197043176/.
Graphic pulled from Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/157485318197043176/.

That is the story of my life as a mother. My baby boy was perfect the day I gave birth; even though it was 2 months too early and he only weighed 3 lbs 11 oz. My baby girl was more than likely born with a monster inside her pelvis. Both of them looked at those mountains in the face, stuck their tongues out at them, put one foot in front of the other and climbed on. They are my heroes.

Lucy’s battle is not over yet, but she does not doubt herself. My kiddos are so inspirational to me. I have many dreams and accomplishments I want in life for myself and for my family. If my kids can live despite their challenges at such an early stage in life, I can win too.

She sleeps peacefully and monsterless.
She sleeps peacefully and monsterless.

LJ Update: Lucy has a few more milestones before we can go home. She has a drain where the tumor was and it needs to be taken out. She has a catheter too. She will get it removed tomorrow, but she has to pee on her own without pain. She pooped today, so we don’t have to worry about that. However, she has to start eating.

Thank you so much for your prayers. Our girl is going to be better in no time and ready to start chemo again for only 2 more cycles!

One thought on “My Heroes

Leave a Reply

