Good Job Mama

Charlie has been a trooper throughout the last 5 months. He’s stayed with different family members at different times. He doesn’t ask many questions, he just embraces the time spent with different people. With that said, he is at his breaking point. This week is Lucy’s last cycle and I think Charlie is just as excited about it as anyone.

During the 4 days I was home between her last infection/blood infusion and this cycle, little Charlie has been at my heels. If I get up to go to the restroom, he wants to know what I’m doing and where I’m going. When he goes to bed, I had to reassure him that I would be at home when he woke up.

McDonalds

As seen on Facebook, Charlie and I had a McDonald’s date on Friday. I labeled it “Mama’s Surprise.” My sister got tickets for us to see Seussical the Musical at the Avenue Theater in West Plains. Marc decided to let us have some more mother-son time, so he stayed home with Lucy. Charlie got so excited to have another “Mama’s surprise.”

So, after church and lunch we met my sister and her two kids for a West Plains Broadway Play. We entered the theater and got on the front row. Charlie was so excited. We got soda, popcorn and our beloved M&M’s! What more could a 2-year-old want?

Avenue Theater

Anticipation was heightened as this was the first show he had ever seen in his 2 years and 10 months of life. We haven’t even taken him to a movie theater yet. The pre-show announcements were said and the lights went out. Charlie sat on my lap and grabbed my shirt. Apparently lights out is not as exciting to a toddler as it is to the rest of the audience.

The show started and the first 5 minutes of Act 1 was filled with singing, dancing and enthusiasm – at least it’s how I depicted it. My 2-year old, however assumed the defensive position on his Mama’s lap covering his eyes when the actors were too loud, too animated or too “scarey” for him. At times he relaxed and enjoyed the show, but just as he loosened up the music got intense and so did his grasp on my arms and chest.

My soft-hearted little boy also did not like when the elephant character was sad. He said, “someone needs to hug him!” as he buried his face into my chest.

Soon Act 1 was over. Act 2 was underway and before we knew it, the show was over. My niece, nephew, sister and myself thought the cast did great! Our hometown Show Biz crew was impressive. West Plains should be proud!

Charlie, on the other hand wanted to get out of the theater as soon as possible. Because we were on the first row, we were last out of the theater. We saw that the actors were lined up outside on the sidewalk to greet their audience. Charlie and I were last in line so he could watch the other kids give everyone a high-five and fist pumps (which we like to call knuckles).

I saw that Cat-in-the-Hat was right in the middle with the Elephant. I was sure that he was going to give the Elephant a hug as he suggested earlier during the play. Keep in mind, I’m holding him on my hip. I have my arms wrapped around him. He reaches out to give Cat-in-the-Hat a high-five and instead he screams and screams AND SCREAMS! He crawls up my body to basically my shoulders. He literally is basically sitting on my shoulder. I’m trying to hold him as he climbs up my body as if it’s a rope. Meanwhile the crowd spreads out to give him some space as he screams. He doesn’t stop screaming a high pitch squeal. The tears fall on the top of my head and it’s all I can do to hold on to my sweet little boy. I try to run out of the crowd so he can catch his breath.

Now, if I’m being honest…I have to be honest. I promised that I would be honest on this blog. So my honesty might knock me out of the Mother of the Year Award running. So here is my honesty.

As my little boy is crying, screaming and climbing my body… I’m laughing. It’s just one of those things that I couldn’t help myself. He wasn’t hurt and it wasn’t a scary play, so I laughed. His reaction was unexpected and uncontrollable and to be honest, it seemed like something you would see on an episode of Friends or something.

Also, this was supposed to be “Mama’s surprise.” This was supposed to be a “moment” Charlie and I would have together. This was supposed to be a time Charlie would enjoy. This was supposed to be a memory he could hold on to when he’s missing me while I’m away with LJ at the hospital. INSTEAD, IT SCARED THE POOP OUT OF HIM!

Good job mama.

Fun

One thought on “Good Job Mama

  1. I think he had a release, he wasn’t afraid, inside he was so built up.time to let go. Cat in hat he knows. I don’t know just my theory. Love you all, thinking about you all, all the time, God Bless and please help them through all this.😇 praying for you and family, it will be over and in the past before long now. God will help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

