The key word is “we”

I realized that I have yet to update my blog post-checkup. I’ve been too busy living. Imagine that. Let me rewind and fill you in on last week.

I got a terrible headache Monday evening and went to bed at 8 a.m. I woke up at 1:30 a.m. Tuesday morning and stayed up all day. I was a zombie. I cleaned and cleaned and cleaned. That’s how I coped with the stress I guess.

Luckily a very good friend brought my family a home cooked meal. I seriously have the best support system.

food
food

Wednesday I woke Lucy up at 4:30 a.m. to get her last meal before the MRI. The day was hectic and there was a mix-up on time. Now that it’s all said and done, I’m over the craziness of the day.

Lucy’s tests came back A-OK. Her AFP came back a 7 (it was a 15 before). Less than 8 is in the normal zone. Her MRI came back exactly like the last one. The doctors believe that the spot is probably scar tissue since it has not grown.

Lucy Jo and her beads at the hospital.
Lucy Jo and her beads at the hospital.

So now you are wondering what’s the next steps. Our next MRI will be the second week of January 6. Lucy will get her blood drawn to check her AFP level on a monthly basis. The next time is December 7. This is not a fun routine, but it’s what the doctor has ordered.

Lucy is a pistol. She’s spoiled rotten and stubborn as an ox. She can say “no no no” one second and give me kisses the next. She walks around the house as if she owns it (which she does) and can boss Charlie around like no one’s business.

I hope the next blog posts are a little more happy-go-lucky. I might blog about recipes, crafts and tips for dealing with 2 kids 22 months apart. We will see. The key word is “we” – Me, Marc, Charlie AND LUCY JO.

Leave a Reply

