Marshmallows and Time

Time is a gift. I realize that now. Time with my daughter was gifted to me by God and a team of doctors and surgeons. Time also heals. Time healed her incisions and time healed our hearts. I will never forget June 10, 2015, but I am not sad about that day. June 10 will always be remembered as a day that Lucy kicked some tumor booty! (You should hear her say booty. SO CUTE!) That’s kinda funny because her largest scar is on her booty. Ha!

Every morning I get Lucy Jo ready. If you know my little girl, you know she’s a pistol. Fixing her hair is almost impossible. She says “ouch,” but I know she has a HIGH pain tolerance. She’s just ornery like that. I learned a trick. She won’t squirm and say, “ouch,” if I give her a marshmallow and let her look at pictures on my phone. I showed her this picture and tried to explain what happened last year as I was fixing her hair.

11391156_10100763522392504_4982716461652771616_n

I said, “This is Baby Lucy Jo after the doctors took the monster out of your belly.”

She said, “Noooooo,” with a giggle.

I said, “Yes, that’s you.”

She said, “Noooooo. That’s baby. No hair,” and giggled some more.

I said, “Yes, you didn’t have hair.”

She said, “Nooooooo,” and shoved a marshmallow in her mouth.

I looked down at the picture and cracked up laughing and said, “Lucy, you were as swollen as a marshmallow last year and you are eating marshmallows this year!”

She said, “Silly Mommy.”

LJ

God’s Got This.

By the way, her birthday is on Sunday. How cool is that! We all prayed until we were blue in the face for her last year and this year she turns 2 years old on the Lord’s Day! To make it even better, Sunday starts Vacation Bible School at Gospel Hill Church of Christ! Everyone is invited!

Sunday, June 12: 9:45 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Monday, June 13: 7 p.m.

Tuesday, June 14: 7 p.m.

Wednesday, June 15: 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

