Hot cocoa at the end of the night

Tips for Moms to get to a Happy Place

This year, 2016, will be a year for the books. It was an Olympics year. It’s an election year. It’s also the year that “adulting” was added to the Urban Dictionary.

The definition of adulting is “to do grown up things and hold responsibilities such as a 9-5 job, a mortgage/rent, a car payment, or anything else that makes one think of grown-ups.”

As many of you know, I work at a university and I have the privilege to sponsor a student organization. I hear all of the time, “adulting is hard.” I should have taken an “adulting class in high school.” What many traditional college students don’t know is that adulting gets harder the older you get. Adulting gets really hard when you have kids. The difficulty of adulting peaked when Lucy was diagnosed and some days it feels just as hard. Yesterday was one of those days.

Charlie is having a hard time sleeping. He’s had a hard time sleeping since October of 2014. We thought it was because he got scared on Halloween that year. We also thought it was because we, his parents, were away in St. Louis so much with Lucy. Lucy has been cancer-free for more than a year now and Charlie is still not consistently sleeping.

Adulting is hard when ¬†your kids aren’t sleeping. Charlie’s mother has not slept 6 solid hours for an entire week for 2 years (probably more since he was a baby before the sleeping issues came to life).

Yesterday was not fun. I spoke to our pediatrician about his sleeping issues. Because it has gone on for 2 years and I have tried every home remedy known to man, he is sending us to a sleep lab once again at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. Charlie also had to get a blood test. This is the first time Charlie’s blood has been drawn. He was scared and held onto me tighter than I’ve ever been held. I could not peel him off. I literally laid on top of him because he wouldn’t let go and they needed him to lay down.

Charlie after he got his blood drawn.

Adulting was hard yesterday.

Before I could relax last night I had to get to my happy place. This takes some steps, but I managed to get there. This is how my last hour of the day was spent.

The kids were in bed. I love them, but peace and quiet is nice.

The dishwasher was going. This means that my kitchen will be ready to cook dinner for the next evening. Organization helps relax me sometimes.

Dishwasher humming

The carpet was vacuumed. This helps me feel as if I’m doing everything I can to help Charlie not break out from leftover pet dander.

The windows in my house were up. I love having fresh air in my house and a cool breeze blowing through.

windows up

A fall candle was lit. I love everything about fall including the smell.

Fall candle lit

I sat in a recliner beside my husband, my best friend. I watched television shows on Netflix and drank hot cocoa.

Hot cocoa at the end of the night

Adulting was not so bad for one hour yesterday. A humming dishwasher. Clean carpet. Lit candle.Open windows. Netflix. Hot cocoa. Marc.

God’s got this.

Leave a Reply

