To guide us with the light of love

The country music band, Alabama, has a song called Angles Among Us. Here are part of the lyrics.

Oh, I believe there are Angels Among Us,
Sent down to us from somewhere up above.
They come to you and me in our darkest hours
To show us how to live
To teach us how to give
To guide us with a light of love.

I don’t necessarily believe in angels, but I do believe God’s love shows up when we need it.

I had a rough week… a really rough week. At one point, I thought my Granny was dying right in front of me. I was alone at the hospital and I felt the room spinning like you do on drama television shows. I felt like I was stuck in the climatic part of a Grey’s Anatomy episode.

I ended the week with taking my two toddlers to the dentist by myself. Why I think I should do things like that without help is beyond me. I was at my whit’s end by the end of the appointment. My kids missed breakfast at preschool and even though they should not be rewarded, we went by McDonald’s.

I texted my mom to see if she wanted anything to eat because she was at the hospital in the ICU waiting room. She ordered a bunch of biscuits for the herd of family that surrounded her. Our total was more than $19.

I had kids in the backseat driving me crazy and I was trying to figure out how I’m going to carry all of the food in and hold the kids’ hands while we walk across the street. My mind was on my Granny. My mind was on work wondering if I was going to be able to get everything done that I needed to get done.

I drove to the McDonald’s window to pay and the lady says, “the lady in front of you paid for your order.”

In a surprised tone, “All of it?” I mean $20 is a lot for a McDonald’s order.

She smiled and said, “She said to tell you Merry Christmas.”

My eyes filled with tears and my kids became quiet. I pulled to the next window and got our food. My two ornery toddlers were still quiet. They asked me why I had tears. I told them that the vehicle in front of us bought our food. They asked why. This is what I said.

I think she bought our food because she wants to share God’s love. He loves her, so she loves us. She wanted to show her love for us by paying for our food.

I really like that song, but I think the lyrics should be:

Oh, I believe Mighty God is Among Us,
Always with us looking down from above.
He comes to you and me in our darkest hours
To show us how to live
To teach us how to give
To guide us with a light of love.

I don’t know who you are ma’am, but thank you and love you too.

 

granny
Granny update: She’s off the vent, eating, drinking and being ornery. Love her so much! GOD’S GOT THIS!

 

2 thoughts on “To guide us with the light of love

  1. I know and believe there’s a God, but I also believe in my soul, I have Guardian Angel’s too, to guide me and protect me each & everyday. So, very happy Yankee Granny is doing alot better. Continue with prayers for her & family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

